Milparinka is one of only two
townships surviving in the Corner Country, the other being the larger
community of Tibooburra. When gold was discovered in the 1870s , a
rush to the Corner Country began, with miners traveling overland from
Wilcannia, and from Farina on the Ghan Railway line, travelling overland
across largely waterless terrain.
Gold was never found at Milparinka,
but something more precious, water. A township developed along the
waterhole in the Evelyn Creek, whilst gold was mined at Mt Browne,
Albert, and The Granites (Tibooburra).
In time, Milparinka grew into a
substantial township with four hotels, a bank, shops, a library, a
newspaper office, police station and courthouse, a Cobb and Co office,
school, post office and more. Plans were made to build a hospital.
The telegraph was linked to Sydney in 1896, and coach services arrived
twice a week from Wilcannia and later Broken Hill.
is a ghost of its former self, but as heritage township has much to
offer. A devoted local community group has restored four of the
most significant buildings, the courthouse, police station, gaol cells,
and former kitchen and turned them into a vibrant, awarding winning
Heritage Precinct. A Visitor Information Centre operates with the
help of "visiting volunteers" during the tourist season.
A walking trail around the
township connects significant historic locations, whilst ongoing survey
work is reconstructing the original town layout. A pastoral
museum, public gardens and pioneer memorials complete the attractions.